Lock User Account / User Login

Block Access of a Specific User to SchoolFront System (MIS, Reporting & CMS)

If you want to disable the system access of a specific user without deleting the user's account information from the system, you can block their ability to login to both the MIS, reports, and the CMS quickly and comprehensively.

You can also re-enable them if they have been blocked and are then given permission to login again.

Step-by-Step Instructions

Determine if a User is Enabled or Disabled

Perform the following steps to determine if a specific user is currently p.

1. Login to SchoolFront MIS (the portion of the system where you, as a school staff member manage courses, attendance, discipline, gradebooks, etc.) as an Administrator.

2. Go to the Manage StudentsManage Staff, or Manage Families section.

3. Locate the user for whom you wish to know access status in the grid.

4. Once you locate the user scroll all the way to the right to the last column in the grid using the horizontal scroll bar.

5. The last column is called SchoolFront Access. It will show if the student is “enabled” or “disabled.”

  • Enabled = User is Allowed to Login to SchoolFront
  • Disabled = User is Not Allowed to Login to SchoolFront
Disabling or Re-Enabling User Access to SchoolFront

Perform the following steps to enable or disable a specific user’s system access:

1. Login to SchoolFront MIS (again, this is the portion of the system where you, as a school staff member manage courses, attendance, discipline, gradebooks, etc.) as an Administrator.

2. Go to the Manage Students, Manage Staff, or Manage Families section.

3. Find and open the profile of the user for whom you wish to enable or disable SchoolFront access.

4. On main page of the user’s profile (the Details tab) click the link to SchoolFront Access (blue shield icon). A small dialogue box will open with an enable or disable button.

5. Click the button to enable or disable the user.

  • Enabled = User is Allowed to Login to SchoolFront
  • Disabled = User is Not Allowed to Login to SchoolFront

6. If you ever wish to reverse this action, just repeat these steps.

Warning: Permission Synch Delay (Up to 5 Minute Delay)

It is important to note that, for a variety of reasons, user locking and unlocking can take up to 5 minutes after implementation to fully synch in all parts of the SchoolFront system (the MIS, Reporting, and CMS).

If your school or district ever has the need to immediately shut down the access of the entire school or district (or other specific group of users) simultaneously and instantly, please contact SchoolFront Support for help.


Printable View | © 2008 - 2020 FrontEdge Inc