Edit Student Schedule

Edit / Change the Schedule of a Specific Student

Previously the only way to add and remove students from a course/course section was to find the course section, go to the enrollment area, and add or remove the student from the list.

This was an optimal workflow if you were dealing with enrollment of multiple students into multiple course sections or were initially populating course enrollment for a school year or marking period. It was tedious if you were focused on setting up a schedule for a single student and needed to change several courses for the single student.

Note: This functionality operates using the student’s schedule, so in order for this feature to work, you must already have course sections scheduled (i.e. your school must have configured scheduling in the Feature Administration section of SchoolFront and course sections must have a day/period associated with them).

Applicable System Roles
  • Administrator
  • Teacher
  • Counselor

Step-by-Step Instructions

Adding a Course to a Student Schedule

Perform the following steps to add a course section to a student’s schedule:

1. Login to SchoolFront as an Administrator.

2. Go the Manage Students section.

3. Find and open the profile of the student to whom you wish to add a course.

4. On main page of the student’s profile (the Details tab), click the link to the Student Schedule. The student’s schedule will open.

5. Choose the appropriate Day from the drop-down menu at the top of the student’s schedule.

6. Choose the appropriate Marking Period from the drop-down menu at the top of the student’s schedule.

7. Find the Period to which you want to add a course and click the green plus sign icon. A list of all courses with sections scheduled at the day/marking period/period you selected will open.

8. To add one of the courses, click the Select button. The course will be added to the student’s schedule. This means that the student is enrolled in that course and will now appear in the roster and gradebook.

Removing a Course from a Student Schedule

WARNING: If the student attended the course in any other Marking Period during the school year and has grades in the gradebook, removing the course from his or her schedule will delete all of the student’s historical grades on coursework for the course.

If you stored student report card grades following the generation of report cards for previous Marking Periods, the report card grades will be saved to the student’s Historical Grades but his or her grades on individual coursework will still be deleted. If you never stored report card grades, all grading associated with the course will be deleted for the student.

If you do not want to lose the record of the student’s grades before you removed them, export the gradebook of the course for all Marking Periods in which the student was enrolled before you remove the student from the course. The exported grades can then be saved in case you need them again, or if you are simply enrolling the student into a different section, you can transpose the grades.

We recommend that you export the grades whether or not you believe you will need them in the future just to be safe.

Perform the following steps to remove a course section from a student’s schedule:

1. Login to SchoolFront as an Administrator.

2. Go the Manage Students section.

3. Find and open the profile of the student to whom you wish to add a course.

4. On main page of the student’s profile (the Details tab), click the link to the Student Schedule. The student’s schedule will open.

5. Choose the appropriate Day from the drop-down menu at the top of the student’s schedule.

6. Choose the appropriate Marking Period from the drop-down menu at the top of the student’s schedule.

7. Find the Period to which you want to add a course and click the red X icon next to the course you wish to remove. A pop-up dialogue will open saying “Do you really want to remove the student from the course? All related coursework and grades will also be deleted.”

8. Make sure that you read the WARNING statement above about the deletion of student grades. If you have already exported the gradebooks, click the OK button.

The course will be removed from the student’s schedule. The student and the student’s grades will all be deleted from the gradebook and the student will be deleted from the course roster.

If you accidently remove a student without exporting his or her grades and then discover that you do in fact need the grades (e.g. so that you can re-enroll the student in a different section and then re-enter the grades), the SchoolFront Support Team can recover the information for you, just submit a support request and explain what happened: Click here to log a Request for Support.


Printable View | © 2008 - 2020 FrontEdge Inc